Debtor’s Work

I have a hard time with the concept of something being “unconditional” or “free”.

In my experience, there are usually strings attached. Not always, but usually.

So naturally, I struggle with grace.

Most days, when I really look at myself, I have a hard time looking past my own wretchedness, and I can’t understand how the One who I’ve sinned against can. I find myself striving, red-knuckled, to be someone worthy of the grace of God. I’m always fighting to be . . . I don’t even know sometimes. A better servant? A better friend? A better daughter? A better sister? A better (fill in the blank here)? This is not in itself wholly bad; we are to always hope for growth. But when fighting becomes about working to earn, things get messy.

Jesus paid for that wretchedness that I sometimes can’t look past. I know that it no longer coats my skin – grace does – but I also know wholeheartedly that I don’t deserve it. He gives it to me anyways, and for that, I will spend the rest of my life devoted to His glory.

I guess my struggle is the tension point between knowing that grace is free and knowing that I don’t deserve it. It all boils down to pride, really. My strife is prideful.

The Lord is still teaching me how to be more accepting of His grace, and I can feel each day, my heart receiving it a little more. In the midst of my learning, I’ve written a poem about my struggles with that beautiful and free gift of God’s grace. I realize the weightiness of this poem, but please know it came from a place of growth.

And by that very grace that I all too often fight, I have grown.

“Debtor’s Work”

I’m realizing how good I’ve gotten
At breaking my own skin.
I scratch, I pick, I peel,
And my wounds,
They don’t clot anymore.
I only bleed.
Rolling up from my red-stained knuckles
Is a copper stench so thick I can taste it,
Reminding me of just how cheap each blow is,
And underneath that sticky, hot, wet coating,
You’ll find written across my fingers the words
Work and Earn.
I get stuck thinking my fighting
Will be a sufficient repayment
Even though I know there was already
Enough blood to begin with.
Take away my striving,
And I’ll try to live up to the stillness.
Try to write truth on the muscle in my chest,
And I’ll ask you to wait
Until I deserve it.
Coat my scars with balm,
And I’ll still feel guilty anyways,
Cause I’ll look at them and see
My own fingerprints imbedded in
My partially healed flesh.
In my nauseating humility,
So false it chips away like aging paint,
Your gifts feel like curses.
I wear them proudly,
But my skin looks so dirty
Up against the beautiful banner of
Bright light
And soft white
Covering me.
After trying and trying
I still can’t live up to
Everything you’ve already given me,
And my surrender seems so cheap
In light of the worth
Of your red-soaked exchange.
I want to learn how to take it,
How to call it my own,
The imputation
Of all the things that,
Despite my callouses
And the inflammation in my joints,
I can’t acquire for myself.

 

 

 

 

Published by katiemariemitchell

I'm a writer, photographer, and church staff member living in the best city in the world. || Florence, AL.

Leave a comment